To participate in BEA On-Location you will need to first register for the event. After your registration is complete you will receive a login to Schedulers.org to make your schedule and view the sessions.

Back To Schedule
Thursday, October 7 • 5:00pm - 5:30pm
BEA On-Location Creative Competition Awards Ceremony

Log in to save this to your schedule, view media, leave feedback and see who's attending!

Join us as we celebrate and announce this year's On-Location creative competition winners!  Congratulations to all the finalists.

2021 Faculty Finalists Faculty Audio Competition
Artist Spotlight: Louis Armstrong — Dutch Hoggatt, Harding University
For Changemakers, By Changemakers — Michael Riecke, SUNY - Oswego
Increase the Peace — David Shabazz, Kentucky State University
SFA Summer Classes — Casey Hart, Stephen F. Austin State University

Faculty Documentary Competition
A Two-Front War — Shawn Kildea, Rider University
Rockin' Baker — Ringo Jones, University of Arkansas Fayetteville
Added Years — David Garcia, Baylor University
Tennessee Triumph: Making a Monument — Karen Bullis, Austin Peay State University

Faculty Film & Video Competition
Eyes of the Storm — Chandra Clark & Scott Hodgson, University of Alabama & University of Oklahoma
Time, Place & Manner Restrictions — Kevin Qualls, Murray State University
TCU KinderFrogs 2020 — Dustin Hahn, Texas Christian University
Safe 2 Help — Scott Hodgson, University of Oklahoma
Baptized in the Flames — Ringo Jones, University of Arkansas Fayetteville
The Secret Life of an Alien Teenager — Dean Cummings, Georgia Southern University

Faculty Mobile / Interactive Multimedia Competition
From Suarez's Basement - Video Podcast — Francisco Suarez, SUNY - Oswego
Iron and Yarn — Mike Castellucci, Michigan State University
Pin Up! The Movie: An Interactive Documentary — Kathleen Ryan, University of Colorado Boulder

Faculty News Competition
An Immigrant's Experience of the ‘Remain in Mexico' Asylum Policy President Biden Is Ending — Alexander Luchsinger, Elon University
Mother's Day — Mike Castellucci, Michigan State University
Secrets of Life — Mike Castellucci, Michigan State University
The Marx Brothers & the Story of Freedonia Marxonia — Mike Igoe, SUNY – Fredonia

Faculty Photojournalism Competition
Mango House — Ross Taylor, University of Colorado Boulder
Vietnam Motorbike Culture — Greg Luft, Colorado State University
The Aftermath — Ross Taylor, University of Colorado Boulder

Faculty Sports Competition
MTSU-Marshall Feature — Chris Bacon, Middle Tennessee State University
 2021 Student FinalistsStudent Audio Competition
The Road to Freedom Avenue: The Legacy of Harry T. and Harriette V. Moore — Lillian Hernández Caraballo and Julianne Amaya, University of Central Florida
D&D — Jade Thomas, University of Arkansas
Racism Within Football — Conor O'Grady, Nottingham Trent University
The Colescott Quest of Discovering Himself — Bassel Hanna, American University in Cairo
The Lights - Front and Center — Lyric Hill, Kentucky State University
The Musical Magic and Scorched Legacy of Cairo's Khedivial Royal Opera House — Maya Aboelnasr, American University in Cairo
Metri Lyons A Performer at Heart — Ethan Foster, Mississippi State University
Primetime w/Parker Primrose — Parker Primrose, University of Oklahoma

Student Documentary Competition
Syracuse Senior Confronts Inherited Trauma Through Painting — Patrick Linehan, Syracuse University
Race, Recognition and Reconciliation — Luke Harvin, Furman University
Downright Discrimination - A Life Worth Living — Anna Wilkinson, Nottingham Trent University

Student Film & Video Competition  
My Love for Books — Ben Bosler, University of Arkansas
The Dime — Alex Semikopenko, University of Oklahoma
I’ll Be Gone — Maggie Bossalini, Sara Bouwman, and Reese Karras, Elon University
Black Lives Still Matter — Emmanuel Tobe, Peter Fortunato, and Jack Learner, Elon University
To Go Bros — Eliza Polich, Furman University

Student Interactive Multimedia Competition
Visualizing 81 — Sonny Cirasuolo, Lawry Boyer, Kevin Camelo, Molly Gibbs and Amanda Paule, Syracuse University
Deconstructing the Divide — Deconstructing the Divide Staff, Syracuse University
Hmmgry? — Tkeya Davy, Elon University

Student News Competition 
OU Nightly — Will Blessing & Curt Watson, University of Oklahoma
Focal Point 3-19 Newscast — Julian Stainback, Sam Britten, Joe Freihofer, Emily Towns, Michigan State University
Focal Point Evergreen Newscast — Julian Stainback, Joe Freihofer, Sam Britten, Emily Towns, Collin Membiela, Jessie Cohen, Ally Smith, Rahmya Trewern, Isabella Martin, Michigan State University
The Disunited Kingdom - Will Wales Want Independence? — Lewis Jones, Nottingham Trent University
Letters of Love — Joe Freihofer, Michigan State University
On Seeking Plein-Air — Daniel O'Neil, Colorado State University
Truman Scholarship Finalist — Flora Dedeaux, Mississippi State University
Mustard Mags and the Weinermobile — Flora Dedeaux, Mississippi State University
It Feels Like a Normal Semester Again — Sam Britten, Michigan State University

Student Photojournalism Competition
For the Win — TJ Shaw and Laura Oliverio, Syracuse University
Stepping Up for Justice — Renée Deemer and Laura Oliverio, Syracuse University
Our Poisoned Kids — Jessica Ruiz and Laura Oliverio, Syracuse University

Student Sports Competition  
Sooner Sports Pad — Will Blessing & Marissa Marcotte, University of Oklahoma
The Amateur Professional — Peter Fortunato, Jack Lerner, and Emmanuel Tobe, Elon University
GamedayU Basketball — Jared Thomas, Dylan Rivera & Kolton Cooper,  University of Oklahoma

avatar for Michael Bruce

Michael Bruce

Dept. Chair, Associate Professor & Interim Director of Digital Media Center, University of Alabama
Transplanted Sooner teaching Sports Media in Bama
avatar for Vic Costello

Vic Costello

Associate Professor, Elon University
Past President of the BEA Board of Directors (2021-22); past Producer and Chair of the BEA Festival of Media Arts and District 2 board representative. Author of Multimedia Foundations: Core Concepts for Digital Design.

Thursday October 7, 2021 5:00pm - 5:30pm EDT
Channel A